First Reflection Paper-Cultural Spaces

Cultural spaces are spaces that you feel comfortable, familiar, safe, and enjoyable. Whether it is a physical space or not, as long as it fits that four categories, it is your cultural space.  To fit those four categories, there are some background checks to be considered. For example, each person’s history, gender, age, nationality, hobby, where they live, etc. could make the differences in cultural spaces for different persons. In my case, I’m a male Korean who studies in the University of Minnesota, and I would like to play any sports with a ball, for example, soccer and basketball, and I live with my roommate in Seven Corners Apartment.  This already gives a hint what my cultural space would be.

To describe a cultural space, I will bring one example of my cultural space.  Being a student in Minnesota, my life pattern and goal are pretty simple. Therefore, it can be easily defined that my cultural space here in Minnesota is school and the school life because I mostly spend my time at the school and I feel comfortable, familiar, safe, and enjoyable. I usually go to a class, library, recreation center and restaurants. Every place I go will be near the school; even my apartment is 3 minutes away from the law school building of the University of Minnesota. My friends and I usually talk about TV shows, school works, and the future, and sometimes we go out to bar near the school. It seems pretty much very simple and everything would happen in or near the campus. Therefore, as a student of the University of Minnesota, my cultural space is the school, the University of Minnesota-twin-cities, and its school life.

After defined the definition of cultural space, we need to think about “how might cultural spaces influence” and “how individuals communicate with one another” to further our understanding of cultural space.  Cultural spaces affect each person’s life style or their ways of living. Just by changing the cultural space, people’s lives could get differentiated from the presence. This is quite interrelated to the next question, “how individuals communicate with one another.” For instance, if a person A and B have different cultural spaces, they have very slight possibility to get close to each other. Let’s say if A is goal-oriented 28-years old business man who likes to go fishing in his spare time, and B is 14 year old teenager who thinks being lazy and not listening to his teacher is cool. Their cultural spaces would be totally different. Even when they get a chance to each other, they wouldn’t feel so comfortable sharing their culture or spaces. Therefore, it is the fact that cultural spaces largely influence one’s life style or their ways of living, and it brings a huge impact on communication in each individual with one another.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

