A Real Look Into Seward Through a Real Resident

On May 26, 2012, during our visit to the Seward neighborhood, we walked the streets that were occupied with both neighborhood residences and locals. At this time, we had the honor and opportunity to speak with some of these people.

The following interview was conducted with a 27 year old white woman named Sarah, who lives in the neighborhood. These are the questions that were asked, but the answers may be summed up as we were not able to write everything down.

After we introduced ourselves and explained that we are students studying the Seward neighborhood, we began asking our prepared questions.

 

Q: Do you live in the Seward neighborhood?

A: Yeah I do

Q: How long have you lived here?

A: Oh gosh, well my family moved here from Missouri when I was in the 2nd grade…my aunt, uncle and cousins lived here and my mom wanted to be closer.

Q: What kind of living situation are you currently in?

A: I’m still living with my parents…can’t beat free rent, right? I graduated from college and haven’t found a real good job yet so this is good for now.

Q: If you don’t mind me asking, how would you describe your home?

A: It’s not bad, kind of an older house.

Q: So, you stayed in Seward, you must like it?

A: I love it, it’s so close to the night life but not too close you know? Sometimes it gets a little old knowing so many people that live in the area too but I guess that is nice at the same time.

Q: If you had to describe the neighborhood to someone who has never been there or heard of it, what would you say to them?

A: I would say that it is neighborhood in the cities that is kind of small but nice. Has a lot of shops and restaurants and everyone is nice. Kind of old, lots of different people. It takes some getting used to.

After her confusion on my questions, “What would you say Seward has to offer for its residence or visitors,” I then clarified my question.

Q: What is there to do here?

A: There is a lot of art stuff, some good restaurants. I don’t know, the normal stuff I guess. It’s nice!

Q: Do you think you would stay here and raise a family?

A: Yeah, maybe. I really like it here but I think you either are set on staying or want to try something different. We’ll see.

Q: I see that there is a lot of diversity here, would you say that that changes the dynamic of the community?

A: Totally, it’s everywhere. My neighbors actually moved here from Laos, I think. They are Hmong. It isn’t just a bunch of the same people, makes it really different.

Q: If you do not mind me asking, do you often interact with different races here?

A: Kind of, like I talk to them when I am out, but I’m not friends with a lot of them. They are really nice though, they don’t cause any problems.

 

At this time, Sarah told us that she needed to get going, so we ended our interview. Although we wished to have spoken to her longer, I think that she gave an interesting perspective of someone who actually lives and is familiar with the neighborhood.

She seemed to live up to the information we have learned about Seward, although I did notice she wasn’t extremely “proud” like I have previously learned.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

